Tags

My brother and sister-in-law had a baby recently and she is the smartest, most beautiful child in the world (and I’m not saying this because I am biased). She is also one of the most well behaved children I know (shout out to two other very well behaved children- ‘Shan & ‘Keerah!).

My niece has learned to trust her parents for food, for shelter, for toys, for everything…she trusts them so much that it doesn’t matter how crazy things are, as long as she is in daddy’s or mommy’s arms she is fine…

I’ve noticed something very interesting about her though- her parents have to tell her “no” all the time. Not because she is always getting into trouble, but because she is a curious child. Sometimes she is okay, but other times she insists on getting her own way… It’s almost as if she doesn’t trust that when her parents say “no” they really are trying to protect her…

It reminds me so much of myself. God does not withhold any good thing from me…I have to say that I am probably the most blessed person I know…yet, when things don’t seem to be going my way, when God tells me to change something, I act as if the only way to salvation is for me to get my own way. I forget that God loves me more than I love myself and that he keeps a picture of me in his wallet (and on his mantle and on his desk at work)… I forget that it hurts him to see me hurt, but that he has my best interest at heart…

So…I’m trying to learn to be more trusting, after all- I am the apple of his eye and he really does complete me!